NEWS: Support Grows for Julian’s Ban on PBDEs – 42 Communities Endorse To Date

Burnaby, BC Nearly four dozen Canadian municipalities from seven Canadian provinces and territories have passed motions of support for Peter Julian’s Motion M-38 for the banning of PBDEs in Canada, and the International Association of Firefighters has added its voice to Julian’s motion.

“The support that we have received from dozens of Canadian municipalities so far is very encouraging, and we expect other communities to sign on soon as well” said Julian. “We are also encouraged by the support of the Canadian Firefighters affiliated to the International Association of Firefighters.”

Julian was joined at a press conference at the Burnaby Edmonds Fire Hall by Miles Ritchie, Secretary of the Burnaby Firefighters Local 323.

PBDEs have been called the “new PCBs” as a result of the increasing concentration that Canadians are accumulating in their bodies. North Americans have twenty times greater levels of PBDEs in their body tissue than Europeans as a result of the more frequent use of flame retardants used here. Health consequences caused by PBDEs include developmental defects in fetuses and children, cancer, and liver and thyroid toxicity.

“The growing movement to ban all types of PBDEs is as important as the campaign to ban PCBs was in the 1970’s”, Julian stated. “I hope that the federal government will heed the call from dozens of Canadian communities and our Canadian Firefighters and immediately move to ban PBDEs”, he said.

Municipalities/Cities/Districts in Support of Motion M-38:

• Abbotsford, BC
• City of Armstrong, BC
• City of Belleville, ON
• Bowen Island Municipality, BC
• City of Burnaby, BC
• City of Campbell River, BC
• Village of Canning,NS
• Municipality of the District of Chester, NS
• District of Chetwynd, BC
• District of Coldstream, BC
• Town of Comox, BC
• Village of Cumberland, BC
• Corporation of Delta, BC
• City of Duncan, BC
• City of Elkford, BC
• City of Fernie, BC
• Village of Fraser Lake, BC
• Iqaluit, Nunavut Territory
• Town of Ladysmith, BC
• District of Logan Lake, BC
• Medicine Hat, AB
• City of Moncton, NB
• City of Nanaimo, BC
• Village of New Denver, BC
• Town of New Glasgow, NS
• City of New Westminster, BC
• Municipality of North Cowichan, BC
• City of North Vancouver, BC
• Town of Oliver, BC
• Town of Osoyoos, BC
• Village of Port Alice, BC
• Town of Port McNeill, BC
• Village of Pouce Coupe, BC
• District of Powell River, BC
• City of Revelstoke, BC
• Ville de Saguenay, QC
• Ville de Shawinigan, QC
• District of Sooke, BC
• Strathcona County, Sherwood Park, AB
• Town of Trenton, NS
• Municipality of Whistler, BC
• Village of Zeballos, BC